No Bang For My Buck

2 Jul

At least not in my state.

I’ve lived in the Midwestern state of Illinois for nearly my entire life. During my time in the military, I’ve had the chance to live in other states such as, California, West Virginia, and Tennessee. I have to say that this is my least favorite state to live in.

July 2011 has just begun. That means in a few days some 307,000,000 Americans will be celebrating our nation’s birth.  We all usually do the same thing, have a cookout, drink beer, watch the city fireworks, yet the real fun part has always been lighting our own fireworks at home.

Which is pretty awesome and all, but I’m here in Illinois where I can’t even celebrate our nations birthday with a sparkler!

You heard me correctly. Apparently, you can no longer even buy sparklers in Illinois.

The Fireworks Use Act (Act) expressly excludes the following novelty fireworks from the
definition of Consumer Fireworks, 425 ILCS 35/1:

• snake or glow worm pellets;
• smoke devices;
• trick noisemakers known as “party poppers”, “booby traps”, “snappers”, “trick matches”,
“cigarette loads”, and “auto burglar alarms”;
• sparklers;

Wow, not even snappers or party poppers? Majorly lame I say.

However, it is this sort of lame legislation that gives us our widely practiced, unnofficial 4th of july tradition…..

Smuggling the good stuff across the border from Indiana!! W00t!

Leave a Reply

